Sorry to say folks, but I am putting  my Sound Essential Series marimba mallets on hold for the moment, as of May 4, 2023.  I have no stock, and don't know when I will.  I am continuing to develop the mallets anyways, hoping to add a rubber core to the series in the future.  I found the perfect yarn, which was discontinued two weeks later.  I have also recently discovered some sticks made in Spain that l I am play with all the time these days.  I appreciate your support, still believe in this product, and love making them for people.  May, 2023

The video of the Nexus and Friends concert is now published and available for all to watch on YouTube:

This was an exceptional event that involved Nexus, and a host of others, including Michael Burritt, Gordon Stout, Ray Dillard, Ruth Cahn, Conrad Alexander,and  John Beck (hope I didn't forget anyone!).  

It took place at the site of the very first Nexus concert:  Kilbourn Hall at the Eastman School of Music, and was completely improvised.  A little over 45" of glorious percussion music.  I was honored to be a part of this concert.


New Compositions by Gordon Stout

Works for a New Time

Now Available in Full Circle Publications.  9 pieces.  107 pages of music.  Over 45 minutes of music.  $10.00.  Available in the US in both printed and digital formats.  Available outside the US in digital format only.

Here is the link to the premiere performance, by Marco Schirripa:  It is a stunning performance.  

My first solo recording (Music for Solo Marimba) is still available from for only $7.95!. It contains, among other works, the first recording of Two Mexican Dances.   In the recordings section you will also find recordings by Moersch, G.H. Green, Weinberg, and Kite.  In the Publications section you will find many important texts as well: Blades, Peinkofer/Tannigel, Vela, MacCallum, Taylor (the long out of print Art and Science of Timpani book), and others.

I have posted in the Compositions for Solo Marimba section a wonderful new video of Two Mexican Dances for Marimba, performed by Aaron Rausch.  It is near the end of the section, because it is one of my oldest marimba compositions.  YOu can also go to his Youtube channel and watch it:  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  July 14, 2021.

New:  my compositions are now organized by category:

1.  Compositions  for Solo Marimba

2.  compositions for Marimba Duo

3. compositions for Percussion Ensembe

4. compositions for Marimba with Other Instruments

5.  compositions for Marimba Quartet

6.  compositions  for Marimba Orchestra

7.  compositions for Marimba Concerto

8.  Method Book for Marimba


Michael Waldrop's new CD  TIME FRAMES has been released as of May 1, 2021.  It contains, among other tracks, Stout's Incoming for marimba and drum set.  This performance, done by Stout and Waldrop in Ithaca, New York at Rep Studios, was first released on Welcome to Stoutland, and now appears in a freshly mixed version.  It also contains works by Waldrop, Jack Cooper, Nathan Daughtrey, Jonathan Middleton, and Brad Dutz, and is a great CD!  If you like marimba, drum set, and great performances and music, you will love this CD.  On Origin Classical  OC 33025.

I have uploaded a live performance of my Concerto for Marimba and Wind Ensemble to the Historic Reference Recordings section.  It is a performance by Gordon Stout and the Lawrence University Wind Ensemble (Appleton, WI), Robert Levy conducting, from 1989.  Thanks to Alvina Tan at Lawrence for locating this performance, and copying it for my archives.  The second movement is for solo marimba, and I will publish it before the end of the years (2022) through Full Circle Publications.

The Music of Ted Rounds is still available from this website (10/20/22).  It will, however migrate to Kent State University School of Music in the near future.  It will be managed by Matt Holm, Professor of Percussion at KSU.

Three titles are now for sale:

 Bluebird Samba (for marimba quartet)

 viewfinder (for marimba duet)

 Lopsy Lou (for solo timpani).  

Check them out!  This is great music and the money from each and every purchase will go to a Percussion scholarship at Kent State University, where Ted taught from 1996-2016.  

Ted passed away way too early, and during the last phone conversation that I had with Ted I told him we would not forget his music.  So now the initial three works have been re-engraved and edited for sale.  I take no money whatsoever, and have not been payed for the countless hours of computer work to get to this point (the same for co-editor Andrew Moran).  We are doing it to commemorate the work of Ted Rounds, and our love of his personage, and to enhance his legacy to the percussive arts.

The next round of pieces will include:

Manjiani (for marimba quartet)

Better Moves (for percussion quartet)

Mallet-Keyboard Exercises (Fascimile Edition)

Guessing (for steel band)


I have now added a new page to my website:  Historic Reference Recordings of Gordon Stout.  These recordings are not for sale, but available for you reference to listen to.  Currently it contains:

1.  Concerto for Marimba and Wind Ensemble, by Gordon Stout.  Lawrence University, Gordon And Dane Richeson.

2.  Double Music, by Cage/Harrison.  With Stout, Leigh Howard Stevens, Dave Mancini, and Ernest Muzquiz.  From the mid 1970's at Eastman.  Yes, Leigh used to play percussion!

3.  Autumn Island, Roger Reynolds for solo marimba.  From the Neuma Records recording in 1998.

4.   Concertino for Marimba and Orchestra, by Paul Creston.  From PASIC 1984, with the University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra, Larry Rachleff conducting.

5.  Concertino for Marimba and Orchestra, by Paul Creston.  From Gordon Stout 2 (LP - not re-released).